Welcome To Ashdod

Today has been insane, I have no idea how much I have slept in the last few days, but I can tell it’s not enough. I had a long flight from Boston to Toronto to Tel Aviv on Air Canada. Airplane seats are so tiny. I was super uncomfortable and I am not an adult sized person. I can only imagine how terrible it must be to fly if you are average height or taller. I watched ‘The Bronze’ on the plane and really enjoyed it, I highly recommend it. I met two other girls from the program at the airport and we took a cab to the apartment. There are seven of us living in the apartment … seven girls, I’m preparing for an estrogen overload.

14238343_10154255007678673_960341328867442915_n
The girls of apartment 18.

Our building has an elevator and some really cool storm shutters. My new roommate Anna went to college in Boston, so we have some mutual friends because the Jewish world is tiny, and everyone knows everyone. We took a brief tour around our neighborhood, and then spent the afternoon at the beach that is walking distance from our apartment.

14134871_601325023372555_1231319662_n
I will be spending every free second here.

The water was so warm, I didn’t even mind being stung by a jellyfish. I’m still not sure where it is OK to swim, the lifeguards were yelling at us, but I don’t know what they were saying because I don’t speak Hebrew, and need to fix that as soon as possible. I spent the evening attempting to stay awake so I can beat my jet lag, and trying to gather the strength to take a shower.

Leave a Reply

